Dresscapades

Where will you start?

anthropologie gets a bad rap for being costly. And while I don’t disagree, it’s still one of my favorite places to shop. Full disclosure, I’ve never purchased anything from Anthropologie full price except my most recent purchase.

Among my Anthro merch are dresses, shirts, denim, and sweaters featuring lovely and interesting prints. I even got a monogrammed mug which I lovingly call my T’anthropologie cup. And my Anthropologie closet is a perfect example of how patience and thumbing the hangers in the sale section will get you all you need. I scored this cozy Zig Jacquard Cardigan for about $50 after applying 25% discount and $25 Simon gift card. But that’s not what I’ve been pining over as of late…

Back in December I made a trip to Anthropologie to pick up a monogrammed cup for Secret Santa. I walked by this gorgeous mug yet to be shelved. By then I had gotten my the job to end all internships. Normally I like to celebrate with a pair of shoes or something but with Christmas approaching the budget didn’t allow for it. I thought, What better item to adorn my desk with than this Mint Gloriosa Mug?

DSC_0661

The Gloriosa Mug is just one piece of set of dinnerware that also comes in colors eggplant, dark blue, and yellow. Yet the mug alone is a welcome companion for morning jo before attending to any emails. As lovely as my t’anthopologie cup is, there’s something about the Gloriosa Mug–perhaps the peekage of design on the inside or it’s misshapen surface–that brings warmth whether I’m drinking from it or just looking at it. In my workspace, the mug promotes a coziness that really makes me smile every time I look at it.

gloriosa2

Dipping Bowl, pen from Target, Mesh pencil holder, and push pins from Target; Books: “Lessons from Madame Chic” by Jennifer L. Scott, “Elements of Style” by Erin Gates (published by Simon and Schuster)

With the Gloriosa Mug at $12.00, the Threshold dipping bowl at $3.99, the print push pins going for $2.99, and the mesh pencil holder a measly dollar, it doesn’t take a whole lot to add to your office space. But if you couldn’t care less about your office decor, do spring for a mug like this Anthropologie mug that will make you happy and add warmth and joy to your day (with the help, of course, of coffee).

One thought on “My New Anthro Buy Cost Me Only $12

  1. Shahidah says:

    One of my fave stores but like you i browse the sales and clearance racks. Although I did splurge once on kitchen cabinet knobs. I also am a sucker for coffee cups. I love TJ Maxx and Home Goods for allowing me to indulge

Leave a Reply

